Government to Withdraw the Three Farm Laws

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has announced the roll back of 3 controversial farm laws, on November 19, months before Punjab and Uttar Pradesh go to state elections. He noted in his address, that “in the Parliament session starting later this month, we will complete the constitutional process to repeal these 3 farm laws.”

The announcement came on Guru Purab, birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev. The Prime Minister further said, “Maybe something was lacking in our tapasya, which is why we could not convince some farmers about the laws. But today is Prakash Parv, not the time to blame anyone.”

Farmers from across India, predominantly from Punjab, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh have been protesting since November 2020, demanding that the laws be withdrawn. The farmers have been camped out on almost every border coming into Delhi since late 2020. The protests did not stop through several rounds of talks between the government and farmers, disruptions in parliament and Supreme Court hearings.

“Government brought these laws for the welfare of farmers, especially for the welfare of small farmers. But such a sacred thing, absolutely pure, for the benefit of the farmers, we could not explain to some farmers in spite of our efforts.” PM Modi said.

The news has been met with positive reactions from politicians and farmers’ unions alike.



By Team Mojo, 19 Nov 2021