Why Is The Himachal Pradesh Govt In Deep Crisis?

BJP won 10 Rajya Sabha seats on Tuesday in the elections held for the upper house of the parliament. The saffron party had won 20 seats unopposed earlier. With the latest win, the BJP-led NDA is just 4 short of the majority mark of 121 in the 240-member House. BJP now stands at 97 and NDA at 117 in the Rajya Sabha. The Congress now has only 29 members in the upper house. But, what is more interesting in this Rajya Sabha elections held for 15 seats across three states, was the cross-voting. BJP won 10 seats, Congress 3 and the Samajwadi Party won 2 seats. BJP won an additional seat in Uttar Pradesh and one in Himachal Pradesh. The results in Karnataka were on expected lines with the Congress winning three seats and the BJP one. The BJP-JDS candidate Kupendra Reddy lost the polls. BJP MLA ST Somashekar voted in favour of the Congress. BJP won 8 seats in the Rajya Sabha polls in Uttar Pradesh and the Samajwadi Party, which had put up three candidates, could win only two seats. Congress' Abhishek Manu Singhvi lost to BJP's Harsh Vardhan in the hill state, after 6 Congress MLAs cross voted for the BJP. BJP has now demanded floor test claiming Sukhu govt is in minority. Sukhu has reportedly offered to resign. This comes after Vikramaditya Singh- minister in Himachal govt, quit his post on Wednesday morning. This was followed by suspension of 14 MLAs from Himachal assembly.

Next Story